Lafayette Parish has a long and profound history of various cultures, starting with the indigenous Atakapa-Ishak, Choctaw, Chitimacha, and Opelousa peoples. They were some of the first to inhabit the area. About 18,000 Acadian refugees settled in the area after being expelled from Canada in 1755 when Great Britain captured the land from France. The Acadian immigrants married other French, Spanish, and African settlers, forming what became known as Cajun and Creole cultures. Both cultures spoke French and were devoted Catholics.
Lafayette Parish is still at the heart of Louisiana’s Cajun and Creole country, with a living and vibrant history that is evident whether you’re grabbing a bite to eat, visiting a gallery or museum, or dancing to Cajun or zydeco music at a local dancehall.
Artist: George Craig · 1893 painting, depicting an event in 1755
Approximately 18,000 French-speaking Catholic inhabitants settled Acadie (now Nova Scotia) in 1605 and lived there under French rule until 1713 when the region went into English hands. Acadians refused to pledge allegiance to the British crown and Anglican Church. English Governor Charles Lawrence gave the orders that led to the expulsion of the Acadians in 1755, also known as "Le Grand Derangement."
As a result of the Treaty of Fontainebleau in 1762, Louisiana went from French to Spanish rule. The Spanish actually took possession in 1766. The French Revolution of 1789 had its effect on the area as many French Loyalists fled to Louisiana to settle. With the Louisiana Purchase of 1803, Louisiana then became the possession of the United States.
The King of Spain consented to allow the Acadians to settle in South Louisiana joining a scattering of their people who arrived as early as 1765 from the Caribbean and the East Coast. Some settled on the Eastern Seaboard of the U.S., but most ended up in New Orleans where they were met with hostility from the French aristocracy, so they headed west. They settled along the bayous of south-central and southwestern Louisiana where they could live according to their own beliefs and customs.
Before European and Canadian settlers occupied what would become Lafayette Parish, the indigenous Atakapa-Ishak, Choctaw, Chitimacha, and Opelousa inhabited the area. By the mid-18th century, French, Spanish, and Acadian colonists established settlements along the Vermilion River, surrounding bayous, and a long-established Native trading outpost called “Pinsahuk,” or Pinhook. In the early 1820s, Jean Mouton, the son of an exiled Acadian, and his surveyor, John Dinsmore, Jr., laid out a cross-grid town, with streets named for presidents, that they named St. Jean du Vermilionville. The name would eventually be shortened to Vermilionville.
In 1823, the Louisiana legislature carved off the western half of St. Martin Parish to form a new parish, named after the Marquis de Lafayette, hero of the American and French Revolutions, who would soon undertake a grand tour of the United States at the bequest of President James Monroe. A legislative charter of 1869 was amended to rename the town of Vermilionville to Lafayette. Problem was, there was another town, a suburb of New Orleans, also called Lafayette. In 1884, however, New Orleans incorporated the other Lafayette into its boundaries, allowing the Acadian-area of Lafayette to finally switch names. By then, Lafayette was truly the hub city of Acadiana, with a railroad stop, stable population and business corridor.
UL— Student Union ©University of Louisiana at Lafayette
A public research university with over 18,000 students, the roots of the University of Louisiana at Lafayette stretch back to 1898 when the state legislature passed an act for the creation of a school in southwest Louisiana. The Southwestern Louisiana Industrial Institute (SLII) opened in 1901 with 100 students attending classes. Twenty years later, the school, renamed the Southwestern Louisiana Institute of Liberal and Technical Learning (SLI), became a bachelor’s degree-granting college. The school’s name was changed yet again in 1960 to the University of Southwestern Louisiana (USL), which had then grown to include a graduate school and six distinct colleges. In 1999, the institution changed its name, likely for the final time, to the University of Louisiana at Lafayette (ULL). Today, the university is home to the Center for Louisiana Studies, founded in 1973; 120 undergraduate, graduate, and doctoral programs; and the men’s and women’s Ragin’ Cajun athletic teams.
The Oil Center (Aerial) ©LAGCOE.
Originally built as a headquarters for numerous oil companies, the Heymann Oil Center remains a sort of city within a city in central Lafayette. Maurice Heymann, a department store mogul, real estate developer, and philanthropist originally from New Orleans, opened his eponymous Center to capitalize on Texas and Lake Charles-area oil companies then relocating their production to the Gulf Coast. The Oil Center also included the Petroleum Club, once a private dining space for oil executives, but open to the public since 1986. Heymann continued to invest in the area adjoining the Center. The Heymann Performing Arts Center opened 1960, and Lafayette General Hospital five years later. Today, the oil city remains a close-knit community of offices, restaurants, and shops.
Created in 1968 by the Louisiana state legislature, and headquartered in Lafayette, the Council for the Development of French in Louisiana (CODOFIL), according to its charter, works to “do any and all things necessary to accomplish the development, utilization, and preservation of the French language as found in Louisiana for the cultural, economic and touristic benefit of the state.” Spearheaded by James R. Domengeaux, a Lafayette-born, former US Congressman, Cajun, and cultural activist, CODOFIL reintroduced French language education to Acadiana classrooms, where students were once often punished for speaking the language they used at home. Domengeaux worked to recruit teachers from Francophone countries and embraced French language immersion instruction at home and abroad. After a half-century, CODOFIL continues to defend the teaching and speaking of French language throughout Louisiana.
Marc Savoy plays the inaugural Festival Acadien in Blackham Coliseum ©Philip Gould.
The world’s oldest and largest Cajun and Zydeco music festival, Festivals Acadiens et Créoles is held every October. The Festival’s roots stretch back to 1976, when a trio of Cajun musicians, Gladius Thibodeaux, Louis “Vinesse” LeJeune, and Dewey Balfa, represented Louisiana at the 1964 Newport Folk Festival. Balfa promised to “bring home the echo of the standing ovation” they received. A decade later, under the auspices of CODOFIL, Balfa helped organize the Tribute to Cajun Music Festival in 1974. The Tribute concert eventually merged with two other independent festivals, the Louisiana Native and Contemporary Crafts Festival and the Bayou Food Festival, to create what would eventually come to be called the Festivals Acadiens et Créoles. Spread across a three-day weekend in Lafayette’s Girard Park, the free festival grounds feature a crafts fair, food tents, chef demos, and six stages of local music.
In 1983, a pair of organizations dedicated to the revitalization and preservation of the city’s downtown district was launched. That same year, Downtown Lafayette Unlimited, a private nonprofit, along with the aid of the Downtown Development Authority, a city-run agency, helped launch Downtown Alive, now Louisiana’s oldest continuously running free outdoor concert series. By decade’s end, a series of commissioned public art projects, most notably a sequence of instantly beloved murals by Robert Dafford (“Escape from the Postcards,” “Ex-Garage,” and “Gateway,” among others), beautified the exteriors of several downtown buildings. In 1992, the Lafayette Natural History Museum and Planetarium, now known as the Lafayette Science Museum, relocated from Girard Park to the former Heymann’s Department Store. Three years later, a two-phase streetscape project improved the sidewalks on Jefferson and Vermilion streets, planted cypress trees, and created and/or renovated several permanent public parks, including Parc Sans Souci, Parc International, Parc Putnam, and Parc de Lafayette, which are all venues for festivals and concerts.
The Cajundome is a 13,500-seat arena, convention center, and much-beloved symbol of the Lafayette skyline. Designed by lifelong Lafayette resident and architect Neil Nehrbass, the Cajundome opened in 1985, after three-plus years of construction, at a cost of $64 million. On November 11, Country music legend Kenny Rogers inaugurated the Dome. Hundreds of national and international acts, including Stevie Wonder, Billy Joel, Cher, and Justin Bieber, have since played here. Since its opening, the Ragin’ Cajuns men’s and women’s basketball teams of USL, now ULL, have called the Dome home. The Dome has hosted other local sports franchises, including, most notably, the Louisiana IceGators minor league hockey team, who skated on the arena’s “frozen swamp” ice rink from 1995 to 2005. In 2002, the Dome was enlarged to include an over 37,000-square-foot convention center addition.
Burundi Drummers—Festival International. 1989.© Philip Gould
A global-themed, annual music, arts, and food event, Festival International de Louisiane is the largest international music and arts festival in the United States. Conceived in 1985 to revitalize the city’s moribund downtown corridor, following the oil industry crash earlier in the decade, Festival International has, from the beginning, recognized and celebrated Lafayette’s cultural and historical diversity. Modeled after the Festival d’ete International du Québec in Québec City, the premiere Festival International, held in July 1987, featured acts from throughout the greater Francophone world, including the Rwanda Master Drummers and the Assemblée du Pays Normand from France. The following year, festival organizers moved the event to late April, taking advantage of the milder spring weather. Since then, Festival International has hosted bands from around the world, while placing local musicians in an international context. Today, the five-day festival, spread over downtown-area seven stages, draws upwards of 400,000 attendees. Staffed by 2,700 volunteers, Festival International remains free and open to the public.
A contemporary, mixed development of homes, apartments and condominiums, business offices, and retail shops that opened in 1999, the Village of River Ranch helped revitalize Lafayette’s south side. Occupying over 300 acres of former horse and cattle farmland, once nicknamed “the ranch,” the community is home to over 2,500 people and dozens of local and national businesses. An exemplar of the New Urbanism design movement, River Ranch features a centrally located town square, surrounded by walkable streets and sidewalks, dotted with green spaces and lakes, and filled with houses designed in seven major architectural styles. During the cooler months, River Ranch hosts Saturday morning races and its Rhythms on the River concert series on Thursday evenings.
A nonprofit organization functioning as the central cultural hub of eight Acadiana parishes — Acadia, Evangeline, Iberia, Lafayette, St. Landry, St. Martin, St. Mary, and Vermilion — the Acadiana Center for the Arts (AcA) is the region’s premier venue for arts entertainment and education. Originally established as an arts council in 1975, the AcA has transformed into a 10,000-square-foot gallery and theater space in the heart of downtown Lafayette. Visual arts programming includes twenty-five exhibitions annually. The 300-seat James Devin Moncus Theater hosts musical, theatrical, and dance performances from a diverse range of local, national, and global acts.
Lafayette Parish is home to 37 sites on the National Register of Historic Places. Their unique styles, from architecture to decor, are a testament to the area’s cultural diversity. More than three dozen buildings in Lafayette Parish are on the National Register of Historic Places. While some of these are open to the public, most are private residences you can drive past and admire. Check out these historical landmarks that have stood the test of time.
In the late 1700s, South Louisiana was a melting pot of cultures where families, friends, travelers, and neighbors gathered around the table at mealtime. Cajun culture today still revolves around food, family, and joie de vivre—a joy of life. Many of the area’s most popular restaurants have been around for decades because of their warm hospitality and feel-good food. Check out these restaurants that have stood the test of time.
The city of Lafayette, LA is located in the center of Lafayette Parish at the intersection of I-10 and I-49 between New Orleans and Houston and only 35 miles north of the Gulf of Mexico. The eight parishes that comprise the area are Acadia, Evangeline, Iberia, Lafayette, St. Landry, St. Martin, St. Mary, and Vermilion. Acadiana is made up of 22 South Louisiana parishes that extend from south of Alexandria in the center of the state, to Lake Charles on the west, south of New Orleans on the east, and to the Gulf of Mexico in the south.
Lafayette, LA is at the heart of Louisiana’s Cajun & Creole Country, an area known as the ‘Happiest City in America’ and it’s no mystery. Whether your passion is for our rich cultural history, the bustling culinary scene or distinctive blend of Cajun and Zydeco music, you can be sure you will leave beaming from ear to ear. Plan your escape to the Happiest City in America.